India escape with unlikely victory in ludicrous finish against Bangladesh

India sealed a thrilling one-run victory against Bangladesh in a World Twenty20 Group Two match at Bengaluru’s M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Wednesday.

Bangladesh needed 17 runs off the last two overs, but Jasprit Bumrah bowled a sterling 18th over, conceding only six runs.

Mahmudullah gave Mushfiqur Rahim the strike off the first delivery, and Mushfiqur then hit two boundaries off the second and third deliveries of the final over to put the victory almost beyond doubt.

However, Rahim and Mahmudullah departed, both going for glory shots off the third and four balls, to leave Bangladesh with 2 runs to get off the final ball.

But Mustafizur Rahman was run out, attempting a desperate single to secure the super over, to hand India victory and keep their tournament hopes alive.

Earlier, Bangladesh put in a much-improved performance with the ball to restrict hosts India to 146 for seven.

India, under pressure after being beaten by New Zealand in their opening match, lost both openers in quick succession with less than 50 runs on the board after being asked to bat by Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza.

Rohit Sharma (18) was the first to fall, caught by Sabbir Rahman after skying a Mustafizur Rahman delivery in the sixth over.

Shakib Al Hasan trapped Shikhar Dhawan (23) lbw in the next over, to leave the hosts at 45 for two.

Virat Kohli (24) and Suresh Raina (30) steadied the ship for India, adding 50 runs for the third wicket, but a disciplined performance by the Bangladesh bowlers kept the Indian batsmen under constant pressure.

Shuvagata Hom bowled Kohli before Al-Amin Hossian, who had been hit for back-back-sixes by Raina, rallied to dismiss the big-hitting Hardik Pandya and Raina with consecutive deliveries.

Pandya (15), hit two boundaries and a six before a diving Soumya Sarkar pulled off a stunning catch in the outfield to send him packing.

Hossian took a simple catch of a Mahmudullah delivery to see off Yuvraj Singh for three and Mustafizur Rahman struck again at the death to remove Ravindra Jadeja for 12 with the first ball of the last over to keep India below 150.

Bangladesh lost their first two matches in Group Two.

BANGLADESH: Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Mithun, Sabbir Rahman, Shakib Al Hasan, Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shuvagata Hom, Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Al-Amin Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman

INDIA: RG Sharma, S Dhawan, V Kohli, SK Raina, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (capt & wk), HH Pandya, RA Jadeja, R Ashwin, A Nehra, JJ Bumrah

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.