Lewis Hamilton wins F1 world championship with US GP victory

Britain’s Lewis Hamilton clinched his third Formula One world championship on Sunday after winning a thrilling and unpredictable US Grand Prix for Mercedes.

The 30-year-old became the first British driver to win back to back titles and also the first to win 10 or more races in successive seasons.

Hamilton’s German teammate Nico Rosberg, who started on pole, finished second after making a costly late mistake while leading. Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel took third place a mere 0.5 of a second behind.

Hamilton had needed to beat Vettel by nine points and Rosberg by two to take the crown, but for much of the race it looked as if he would have to wait at least until Mexico next weekend.


1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1:50:52.703
2. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes +00:02.850
3. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari 00:03.381
4. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Toro Rosso – Renault 00:22.359
5. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India – Mercedes 00:24.413
6. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 00:28.058
7. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso – Renault 00:30.619
8. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Lotus – Mercedes 00:32.273
9. Felipe Nasr (Brazil) Sauber – Ferrari 00:40.257
10. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) RedBull – Renault 00:53.371
11. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 00:54.816
12. Alexander Rossi (U.S.) Marussia – Ferrari 01:15.277
r. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) RedBull – Renault 15 laps
r. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India – Mercedes 21 laps
r. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber – Ferrari 31 laps
r. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 31 laps
r. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes 33 laps
r. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus – Mercedes 46 laps
r. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams-Mercedes 51 laps
r. Will Stevens (Britain) Marussia – Ferrari 55 laps

© Reuters

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.