Mo Farah, Caster, Wayde in line for IAAF award

Mo Farah, Wayde van Niekerk and Nafi Thiam have all been named on the shortlist for the IAAF’s Athlete of the Year award.

Farah – aiming to become the first Brit to win the award since Jonathan Edwards back in 1995 – faces stiff competition from 400m world champion Wayde van Niekerk and Javelin star Johannes Vetter.

There will be a first-time winner of the men’s award, with six-times winner Usain Bolt not shortlisted.

Incumbent Almaz Ayana is again nominated along with Nafi Thiam, Mariya Lasitskene and Caster Semenya.

Lasitskene, 24, added the Diamond League to her world championship gold in a standout season while the impressive Thiam continues to dominate the heptathlon.

The 26-year-old Semenya is already a three-times world champion in the 800m having won gold in London following triumphs in Berlin in 2009 and Daegu in 2011.



Mutaz Essa Barshim (QAT)
Pawel Fajdek (POL)
Mohamed Farah (GBR)
Sam Kendricks (USA)
Elijah Manangoi (KEN)
Luvo Manyonga RSA)
Omar McLeod (JAM)
Christian Taylor (USA)
Wayde van Niekerk (RSA)
Johannes Vetter (GER)


Almaz Ayana (ETH)
Maria Lasitskene (ANA)
Hellen Obiri (KEN)
Sally Pearson (AUS)
Sandra Perkovic (CRO)
Brittney Reese (USA)
Caster Semenya (RSA)
Ekaterini Stefanidi (GRE)
Nafissatou Thiam (BEL)
Anita Wlodarczyk (POL)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.