Proteas take first blood in India T20 series

JP Duminy has led the Proteas to a seven-wicket victory in the opening T20 against India in Dharamsala on Friday.

As it happened: India v South Africa, first T20

After captain Faf du Plessis won the toss and elected to bowl, India posted 199/5 in their allotted 20 overs, thanks in main to a century (106 off 66 balls) by opener Rohit Sharma.

The Proteas scored the winning runs in the final over, reaching 200/3 with two balls remaining.

Duminy was the star for the visitors, finishing on 68 not out off 34 balls.

The second T20 will take place in Cuttack on Monday (15:30 SA time), with the final match scheduled for Kolkata next Thursday at the same time.



Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (captain, wk), Ambati Rayudu, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma, S Aravind

South Africa

AB de Villiers (wk), Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis (captain), JP Duminy, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Kyle Abbott, Marchant de Lange, Imran Tahir

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.