Salah pick of Africans in Europe. African Footballer of the Year winners

Mohamed Salah was once again the outstanding African performer in Europe at the weekend, bagging a brace in Liverpool’s English Premier League win over Leicester City.

A flop at Chelsea, the 25-year-old Egyptian rebuilt his career in Italy and has scored 18 league goals in his first season at Anfield, placing him second in the scorers charts.

Ghanaian Jordan Ayew, a son of former African Player of the Year Abedi ‘Pele’ Ayew, levelled for relegation-threatened Swansea, who went on to win at Watford.



The 26-year-old sparked a late fightback away to Watford, equalising for struggling Swansea in the 86th minute. Dutchman Luciano Narsingh netted the winner as new coach Carlos Carvalhal enjoyed a dream debut.


He will likely be hailed as the signing of the season as Liverpool push for a Champions League spot. His double against Leicester at Anfield brought Liverpool back from a goal down to win 2-1 and collect the three points.

SOFIANE BOUFAL (Southampton)

The goal-shy 24-year-old Moroccan showed his class against Manchester United at Old Trafford, going toe to toe with the likes of Paul Pogba and Henrikh Mkhitaryan at the heart of an impressive showing by a side that made a nonsense of their lowly Premier League position with a 0-0 draw.

WILFRIED ZAHA (Crystal Palace)

Ivory Coast winger Zaha won the penalty that could have given Palace a shock win against Premier League leaders Manchester City, but Luka Milivojevic missed the spot kick and the match ended goalless.



Guinean Diawara narrowly missed scoring his first Serie A goal for Napoli in a 1-0 win at Crotone. The 20-year-old’s dipping effort at goal was palmed away by Alex Cordaz, but Napoli finished 2017 top of the table thanks to captain Marek Hamsik’s early goal.

CAPE TOWN, Jan 2 (Reuters) – Full list of African Footballer
of the Year award winners:

1970: Salif Keita (St Etienne, France and Mali)
1971: Ibrahim Sunday (Asante Kotoko and Ghana)
1972: Cherif Souleymane (Hafia and Guinea)
1973: Tshimen Bwanga (TP Mazembe Englebert and Zaire)
1974: Paul Moukila (CARA Brazzaville and Congo)
1975: Ahmed Faras (Mohammedia and Morocco)
1976: Roger Milla (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon)
1977: Tarak Dhiab (Esperance and Tunisia)
1978: Karim Abdoul Razak (Asante Kotoko and Ghana)
1979: Thomas Nkono (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon)
1980: Jean Manga Onguene (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon)
1981: Lakhdar Belloumi (GCR Mascara and Algeria)
1982: Thomas Nkono (Espanyol, Spain and Cameroon)
1983: Mahmoud Al Khatib (Al Ahli and Egypt)
1984: Theophile Abega (Toulouse, France and Cameroon)
1985: Mohamed Timoumi (Royal Armed Forces and Morocco)
1986: Badou Ezaki (Real Mallorca, Spain and Morocco)
1987: Rabah Madjer (FC Porto, Portugal and Algeria)
1988: Kalusha Bwalya (Cercle Bruges, Belgium and Zambia)
1989: George Weah (Monaco, France and Liberia)
1990: Roger Milla (St Denis, Reunion and Cameroon)
1991: Abedi Pele Ayew (Olympique Marseille, France and Ghana)
1992: Abedi Pele Ayew (Olympique Marseille, France and Ghana)
1993: Abedi Pele Ayew (Olympique Lyonnaise, France and Ghana)
1994: George Weah (Paris St Germain, France and Liberia) and
Emmanuel Amunike (Sporting Lisbon, Portugal and Nigeria)
1995: George Weah (AC Milan, Italy and Liberia)
1996: Nwankwo Kanu (Inter Milan, Italy and Nigeria)
1997: Victor Ikpeba (Monaco, France and Nigeria)
1998: Mustapha Hadji (Deportivo Coruna, Spain and Morocco)
1999: Nwankwo Kanu (Arsenal, England and Nigeria)
2000: Patrick Mboma (Parma, Italy and Cameroon)
2001: El Hadji Diouf (Rennes, France and Senegal)
2002: El Hadji Diouf (Liverpool, England and Senegal)
2003: Samuel Eto’o (Real Mallorca, Spain and Cameroon)
2004: Samuel Eto’o (Barcelona, Spain and Cameroon)
2005: Samuel Eto’o (Barcelona, Spain and Cameroon)
2006: Didier Drogba (Chelsea, England and Ivory Coast)
2007: Frederic Kanoute (Sevilla, Spain and Mali)
2008: Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal, England and Togo)
2009: Didier Drogba (Chelsea, England and Ivory Coast)
2010: Samuel Eto’o (Inter Milan, Italy and Cameroon)
2011: Yaya Toure (Manchester City, England and Ivory Coast)
2012: Yaya Toure (Manchester City, England and Ivory Coast)
2013: Yaya Toure (Manchester City, England and Ivory Coast)
2014: Yaya Toure (Manchester City, England and Ivory Coast)
2015: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund, Germany and
2016: Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City, England and Algeria)
Note: The award was organised by the French soccer magazine
‘France Football’ until 1994, after which the Confederation of
African Football instituted a new award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.