Van der Poel takes maiden WorldTour win in Belgium

Mathieu van der Poel of Corendon-Circus took an impressive victory at Dwars door Vlaanderen on Wednesday, the first WorldTour road win of his career.

Van der Poel, 24, was part of a five-man break that wasn’t caught by the main peloton and in the end it was easy for the Dutch champion. 

Anthony Turgis went first but Van der Poel easily caught him in the final sprint, with Bob Jungels some way off in third to complete the podium. 

Lukas Postlberger rode well to finish fourth ahead of Tiesj Benoot whilst Team Sky’s Luke Rowe came sixth in the sprint battle of the rest of the pack. 

“I had to make sure that nobody came from behind, I just looked when Turgis went. I felt there was a sprint in my legs and I just finished it off. It was an instinctive moment really – Garcia Cortina reacted and I went with him. I think it was a perfect moment to anticipate everyone else.

Van der Poel’s win is the first Dutch victory since Niki Terpstra in 2014. 


1 Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) Corendon-Circus

2 Anthony Turgis (Fra) Direct Energie

3 Bob Jungels (Lux) Deceuninck-QuickStep

4 Lukas Pöstlberger (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe

5 Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Lotto Soudal

6 Luke Rowe (GBr) Team Sky

7 Danny van Poppel (Ned) Team Jumbo-Visma

8 Yves Lampaert (Bel) Deceuninck-QuickStep

9 Christophe Laporte (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits

10 Heinrich Haussler (Aus) Bahrain-Merida

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.